

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY U.S. ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS, CHICAGO DISTRICT 231 SOUTH LASALLE STREET SUITE 1500 CHICAGO, IL 60604

July 10, 2025

Planning Branch Planning, Programs and Project Management

Dear Recipient:

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Chicago District (USACE) has released for public comment a Draft Environmental Assessment (EA) on the effects associated with a proposed environmental infrastructure project located in the Village of Steger, Cook County, Illinois pursuant to Section 219 of the Water Resources Development Act of 1992, as amended. The project will improve a portion of the village's storm sewer infrastructure to increase capacity along Louis Sherman Drive (Enclosure 1).

The Draft EA considers three alternatives to improve storm sewer infrastructure in the area. The recommended plan includes the installation of 55 linear feet (LF) of new dual 15-inch diameter storm sewer pipe and 165 LF of new 60-inch diameter storm sewer pipe and three 8-foot diameter and two 9-foot diameter drainage structures along Louis Sherman Drive, south of East 33rd Street. Construction would utilize an open-cut trench and includes roadway reconstruction in the public right-of-way.

As part of the 30-day public review process, USACE would appreciate any comments associated with potential effects to environmental and cultural resources related to the proposed action. The Draft EA is available at: https://www.lrd.usace.army.mil/News/Project-Documents-Notices-Public-Review/Category/24681/chicago/

Comments may be submitted via email or mail. Enclosure 2 is a list of state and federal agencies, tribal nations, and elected officials receiving this request. Emailed comments should be sent to <u>samantha.d.belcik@usace.army.mil</u>. Mailed comments should be sent to the attention of Ms. Samantha Belcik, Biologist, at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 231 South LaSalle Street, Suite 1500, Chicago, IL 60604. All comments should be postmarked or emailed by August 11, 2025.

Sincerely, BUCARO.DAVID Digitally signed by BUCARO.DAVID.F.1245178677 .F.1245178677 Date: 2025.07.08 13:55:53 -05'00'

David F. Bucaro, P.E., PMP, WRCP Chief, Planning Branch Chicago District

Enclosure 1 – Project Map 2 – Distribution List



FEDERAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

Senator Tammy Duckworth U.S. Senate 230 S. Dearborn Street Suite 3900 Chicago, IL 60604

Senator Dick Durbin U.S. Senate 230 S. Dearborn St., Suite 3892 Chicago, IL 60604

Representative Robin Kelly U.S. House of Representatives 9204 S. Commercial Ave Suite 415 Chicago, IL 60617

STATE ELECTED OFFICIALS

Senator Patrick Joyce Illinois Senate District 40 118 Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706

Representative Anthony DeLuca Illinois House of Representatives District 80 274-S Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706

Governor JB Pritzker Office of the Governor 207 State House Springfield, IL 62706

LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

Mayor Kenneth Peterson The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Mr. Ernie Lopez Village Trustee The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Mr. Tim Perchinski Village Trustee The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475 Mr. William Joyce Village Trustee The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Ms. Cindy Trotier Village Trustee The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Mr. Steve Thurmond Village Trustee The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Mr. Gerald Stewart Village Trustee The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Ms. Donna Miller County Board Commissioner, 6th District Cook County Board of Commissioners 118 N Clark Street Room 567 Chicago, IL 60602

FEDERAL AGENCIES

Mr. Shawn Cirton U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Chicago Ecological Services Office 230 South Dearborn Street, Suite 2938 Chicago, IL 60604

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5

STATE AGENCIES

Natalie Phelps Finnie, Director Illinois Department of Natural Resources One Natural Resource Way Springfield, IL 62702-1271

Mr. Bradley Hayes, Interagency Review Environmental Planning Illinois Department of Natural Resources One Natural Resource Way Springfield, IL 62702-1271 Ms. C.J. Wallace, Cultural Resources Coordinator Illinois State Historic Preservation Office Old State Capitol Building, 2nd Floor One Old State Capitol Plaza Springfield, IL 62701

Mr. James Jennings, Deputy Director Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 1021 North Grand Ave. East P.O. Box 19276 Springfield, IL 62794-9276

Mr. Darren Grove Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 1021 North Grand Ave. East P.O. Box 19276 Springfield, IL 62794-9276

LOCAL AGENCIES

Mr. Joseph Zagone Jr. Village Clerk The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Ms. Mary Jo Seehausen Village Administrator The Village of Steger 3320 Lewis Ave Steger, IL 60475

Ms. Jessica Rodrigues Library Director Steger-South Chicago Heights Library 54 East 31st Street Steger, IL 60475

TRIBAL NATIONS

Chairman John Barrett Citizen Potawatomi Executive Council 1601 S. Gordon Cooper Drive Shawnee, OK 74801

Mr. Blake Norton Citizen Potawatomi Executive Council 1601 S. Gordon Cooper Drive Shawnee, OK 74801

Chairperson James Crawford Forest County Potawatomi Executive Council P.O. Box 340 Crandon, WI 54520 Ms. Olivia Nunway Forest County Potawatomi Executive Council P.O. Box 340 Crandon, WI 54520

Chairperson Kenneth Meshigaud Hannahville Potawatomi Tribal Council N 14911 Hannahville Rd. Wilson, MI 49896

Chairperson Regina Gasco-Bentley Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Michigan 7500 Odawa Circle Harbor Springs, MI 49740

Ms. Melissa Wiatrolik Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Michigan 7500 Odawa Circle Harbor Springs, MI 49740

Chairperson Gena Kakkak Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin P.O. Box 910 Keshena, WI 54135

Mr. David Grignon Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin P.O. Box 910 Keshena, WI 54135

Chief Douglas Lankford Miami Tribe of Oklahoma P.O. Box 1326 Miami, OK 74355

Mr. Logan York Miami Tribe of Oklahoma P.O. Box 1326 Miami, OK 74355

Chairperson Joseph Rupnick Prairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Council 16281 Q. Road Mayetta, KS 66509

Mr. Raphael Wahwassuck Prairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Council 16282 Q. Road Mayetta, KS 66509

Ms. Pam Wesley Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma P.O. Box 70 McLoud, OK 74851 Chairman Darwin Wesley Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma P.O. Box 70 McLoud, OK 74851